ASHRAE named M. Dennis Knight as society president for 2023–24


ASHRAE has appointed M. Dennis Knight as its 2024-25 Society president, with the theme “Empowering Our Workforce: Building a Sustainable Future.”

ASHRAE is introducing its newly installed 2024–25 Society president, executive committee officers, and directors.

M. Dennis Knight, P.E., BEMP, Fellow Life Member ASHRAE, will serve as the 2024–25 Society president. During his inaugural presidential address, Knight introduced the theme for the 2024–25 Society Year, “Empowering Our Workforce: Building a Sustainable Future.” The theme highlights the impact that our industry is making in addressing climate change, sustainable development, and indoor air quality, the emergence of new technologies in HVAC&R and building sciences, and how ASHRAE will be instrumental in attracting and developing the next generation of diverse professionals.

“We have a perception problem,” said Knight. “Part of it is that our message about our vision for a sustainable future where buildings are energy efficient, healthy, and carbon neutral needs to be clarified! We all want to be involved in a career that we can be passionate about and where we can find meaning and purpose. We need to highlight our industry in a way that celebrates the ideas and innovations that emerge when we embrace and encourage greater diversity, equity, and inclusion.”

Knight is the founder of Whole Building Systems, LLC, in Mount Pleasant, South Carolina. 

Elected officers who will serve one-year terms are as follows:

 President-Elect: Bill McQuade, P.E., LEED AP, Fellow ASHRAE, Vice President for Regulatory Affairs, Baltimore Aircoil Company, Jessup, Maryland.

Treasurer: Sarah Maston, P.E., BCxP, Member ASHRAE, Director, Colliers Hudson, Massachusetts.

ASHRAE introduced its newest Vice Presidents who will serve a term of 2 years (Society Years 2024?–?2025 and 2025?–?2026):

 Vice President: Devin Abellon, P.E., Member ASHRAE, Director of Engineered Solutions, Pac West Sales, Portland, Oregon.

Vice President: Kenneth Fulk, P.E., Member ASHRAE, President and Managing Principal, RWB Consulting Engineers, Dallas, Texas.

ASHRAE introduced its newest Directors and Regional Chairs who will serve three-year terms from 2024–2027:

 Region I Director and Regional Chair: Charles Bertuch, P.E., LEED AP, Member ASHRAE Principal, Energy Solutions for Bergmann Associates, Syracuse, New York.

Region II Director and Regional Chair: Genevieve Lussier, Member ASHRAE Partner and Principal, Eequinox, Quebec, Canada.

Region III Director and Regional Chair: Sherry Abbott-Adkins, P.E., CPD, GDP, LEED AP, Member ASHRAE, President and Owner, A Squared Plus Engineering Group, LLC, Westminster, Maryland.

Region XI Director and Regional Chair: Rob Craddock, Member ASHRAE Managing Director, Inland Metal Manufacturing, Saskatchewan, Canada.

Region-at-Large Director and Regional Chair: Bassel Anbari, P.E., Member ASHRAE Managing Partner, InterCool, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

ASHRAE also introduced its newest Directors-at-Large (DALs):

 Carrie Brown, Ph.D., Member ASHRAE, Director, Resource Refocus, LLC., Oakland, California.

Patrick Marks, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE, Director of Engineering Services, Applied Equipment Business of Johnson Controls, New Freedom, Pennsylvania.

David Yashar, Ph.D., Member ASHRAE, Deputy Chief of the Building Energy and Environment Division, National Institute of Standards & Technology, Gaithersburg, Maryland.

Cookie Consent

We use cookies to personalize your experience. By continuing to visit this website you agree to our Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply


To Top